PDA

View Full Version : Waterproof Gortex Socks

Ashley Cawley
19-11-2010, 12:49 PM
Hey Folks,

I've developed a leak in my boot, a kind friend of mine (Matt) has lent me a pair of his waterproof Gortex socks. I've yet to try them (had a perfect opportunity to the other day but forgot to put them on! doh!).. anyway.. seeing as I've never used them before, I was interested to hear experiences from those who had, bad or good.

Thanks for your time,

Shewie
19-11-2010, 12:55 PM
If they're the black MOD ones Ash I think they're the best ones available, I've had a couple of bad experiences with Sealskinz but the MOD ones just keep on going.

Let us know how you get on with them.

They make an appearance at the end of my Sheil vid here ....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjJQBqnm1nQ

Thumbcrusher
19-11-2010, 03:21 PM
If they're the black MOD ones Ash I think they're the best ones available, I've had a couple of bad experiences with Sealskinz but the MOD ones just keep on going.

I agree - the MOD ones are great! I've had the same pair for about ten years now and use them regularly and they're still waterproof. I've also got two pairs of sealskin socks which are frankly a pain in the behind.
They aren't particularly comfortable and your feet sweat in them as well. The other problem i've found is washing them 'cos they take ages to dry and you have to keep turning them inside out to get them to dry properly. Fortunately I had them bought for me so at least i didn't waste my money - i very rarely wear them because of the washing issues. A mate also had some sealskin socks and he put them on the radiator to dry and they shrunk about three sizes!!

The MOD ones are only about £8 - £10 a pair whereas sealskins are about £25 - £35 depending on the length!

Ashley Cawley
19-11-2010, 05:43 PM
Thanks for letting me know your experiences, I'm learning already!

These ones are green and black "Mustang Survival Socks, Bootliner type moisture vapour permeable"

greenpete