PDA

View Full Version : Treefrog's quarterly report

treefrog
29-02-2012, 01:58 AM
More video mayhem for you....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kW2jBwzxMyA&feature=player_detailpage

I'll post part 2 when I free up some time...just more of me and my random commentary!

CanadianMike
29-02-2012, 02:13 AM
That's awesome Jack, thanks so much for the quick review, is all I wanted from you, real world use and commentary of it! Any suggestions to make a knife more flexible for skinning more types of animals? I've zero experience past fish, so I have no idea what works best for shape and bevel.

treefrog
29-02-2012, 02:30 AM
That's awesome Jack, thanks so much for the quick review, is all I wanted from you, real world use and commentary of it! Any suggestions to make a knife more flexible for skinning more types of animals? I've zero experience past fish, so I have no idea what works best for shape and bevel.

The truth of it is, Mike, that most trappers would have several knives in their arsenal simply because there's no one knife that can do it all.
What's most important to me is one that can do beaver well; almost all other animals are case skinned but a beaver is done in the open-skinned
technique which is more time consuming and difficult. The case skinning can be done with basically ant pointy knife--even a steak knife I suppose,
but the open skinning (beaver & bear) involves much more knife work and needs a curved blade that can be used in long rolling strokes with just enough
of a point but not too much.

Take a look at the Fur Harvesters web site...I think there's the catalogue there...they sell every shape of a knife imaginable, most of which I
wouldn't be bothered with, but you'll get an idea of what's used for skinning.

Jack

CanadianMike
29-02-2012, 10:16 PM