View Full Version : 58 pattern poncho help

lovejoy1234
29-03-2012, 01:56 AM
Hey,
I'm quite new to the bushcraft/wild camping scene but i have done a lot of
regular camping
I've recently bought a 58 pattern poncho off ebay really cheap but I think
I will need to reproof as on the inside there are lots of gold flakes where it
looks like the waterproofing has come off is it possible to re-proof these and if so
what should i use?

Martin
29-03-2012, 06:56 AM
Firstly, a very warm welcome to the NaturalBushcraft forum.

I'm afraid that I don't really know the answer to your re-proofing problem but would imagine that if you hang it right, with a decent pitch on it, it will shed water rather than drip through. It will need to be nice and tight. Why not hook it up and pour water over it with a watering can? That will be as good a test as you'll get.

Martin

jus_young
29-03-2012, 08:35 AM
Hi from me too :)

You could try just chucking it in the washing machine with your normal detergent and that will remove a lot of the existing proofing (I know because I accidently but a tarp in once :ashamed: ). When dried use a reproofing product like Fabsil or Nikwax. I don't think you will get the repellency back to the same levels as when new but it should be pretty damned good. The only thing to watch with reproofing or items with a possible flaw in existing proofing is wind. As Martin said the poncho or tarp will let most water run off because of the pitch but in windy conditions the moisture can be pushed through as a very fine mist that can be a little annoying.

Good luck.

Under My Basha
24-06-2013, 01:50 PM
Army Ponchos are extra waterproofed by silicone it's called silnyn or something but this comes off after time, as Martin said a good tight A frame water will just run off no problems.

-mick

David_JAFO
24-06-2013, 04:45 PM
hello,
I posted this recently might be of interest http://www.naturalbushcraft.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?6085-RainyPass-Repairs