PDA

View Full Version : Bushcraft club - help!

RobD
06-09-2012, 06:08 PM
Sorry if this is the wrong thread but not sure where this fits in!

Help, am I looking at this all wrong? Here's the deal:

I'm a teacher and am going to run a simple bushcraft club for the kids in my school - age 10/11 - along the lines of simple knot tying, using stoves (Trangia types etc), navigation, tent building, shelter making, wide games... you get the picture. It's designed to try and engage our lost boys back into something they can talk and maybe even feel good about themselves in.

Well I told them to call it The Bushcraft Club I was derieded by the female staff for picking a wholly inappropriate name for the club. I was a bit lost but they then explained that 'wouldn't it look funny if Mr D was teaching children BUSH craft skills' - the connotation referring to female anatomy!

Now not sure if I should change the name of the club. What does the community think? Is this OTT or am I not seeing it right?

FishyFolk
06-09-2012, 06:43 PM
Those female teachers obviously need to fill a few gaps in their education...
Keep the name.

Tony1948
06-09-2012, 06:58 PM
Thats there hang ups not you'rs or the kids.Call it wot it is BUSHCRAFT.

comanighttrain
06-09-2012, 07:18 PM
Change it to Muffskillz group

fish
06-09-2012, 07:21 PM
why not just start your own branch of the forest school?

AdrianRose
06-09-2012, 07:25 PM
why not just start your own branch of the forest school?

Unfortunately that can't be done. They have copy written the name and it's takes a few thousand pound to become one of their "approved" instructors.

I looked into it a while ago then when I saw the price for a qualification in something I've been doing for 20yrs I ran to the horizon.

Ade.

jus_young
06-09-2012, 07:39 PM