PDA

View Full Version : made my first 2 hobo stoves 2day

swkieran
03-01-2011, 04:31 PM
;) i was a little bit bored earlier so i decided to make a pop can stove,while i had the drill and tools out,i noticed a full size dog tin so i cleaned it out and made a stove,its a bit rough and ready but its my first time and it does work suprisingly well :campfire:

bigzee
24-02-2011, 10:37 PM
The best solutions are often the simplest.

If in doubt
make it stout
out of things you know about

Adam Savage
12-03-2011, 01:19 PM
just made my first today too, works a treat and no need to carry fuel with you. also makes a great hand warmer for the next hour or two once it has burnt out.

It wasn't as wonky as it looks in the pics, think thats the lens distortion

Ben Casey
12-03-2011, 02:25 PM
just made my first today too, works a treat and no need to carry fuel with you. also makes a great hand warmer for the next hour or two once it has burnt out.

It wasn't as wonky as it looks in the pics, think thats the lens distortion

Looks good I will have to try one soon :)

Adam Savage
12-03-2011, 02:47 PM
Looks good I will have to try one soon :)

It does the job, I used one of those large coffee cans you get at a cash n carry type place. Also I would suggest, rather than cutting a rectangle for the opening, mark the four corners and join them diagonally with two long cuts, then bend them over inside the can, this gives nice smooth edges. I found it was needed as when I was feeding the fire, I slightly burnt my finger and the instant reaction is to pull your hand out quick. Not good if you catch it on a razor blade on the way out haha

Martin
12-03-2011, 03:26 PM
Looking good there Crazysaint222. Reminds me that it's probably time to break out my Bushbuddy next time we go out. Has been a long winter and been looking forward to using this as my sole means of cooking. :)

Martin

Adam Savage
12-03-2011, 03:45 PM