PDA

View Full Version : Which essential bushcraft skill do you lack?

GalaxyRider
11-10-2012, 07:35 AM
OK fess up. Which bushcraft skill is your weakest suit?

For me it is the recognition of many plants. I read about the different types and their uses, then when I get outside they all just look green and leafy!

Anyone else have a bushcraft Achilles heel?

Humakt
11-10-2012, 08:07 AM
I'm exactly the same as you.

paulthefish2009
11-10-2012, 08:28 AM
Not to bad on small plants,it's trees I struggle with along with fungi. Paul

JonnyP
11-10-2012, 09:09 AM
Tracking

f0rm4t
11-10-2012, 09:51 AM
Tracking
Map & Compass
Plant ID
Birds & Wildlife
Hunting
Fire
Hiking
Shelters
Water Purification
Wild food

However! Talking bollox sat around a camp fire with a hip flask of good cognac is something I'm a professional at! ;)

paulthefish2009
11-10-2012, 09:56 AM
Tracking

Yeh good one Jonny,I've never even tried to track something,quite good at spotting rabbit runs and deer lay ups though. Paul

AL...
11-10-2012, 10:07 AM
Fungi ID

Cheers
AL

Roadkillphil
11-10-2012, 10:34 AM
Fungi ID

Cheers
AL

Yeah, me too. I know a couple but I see loads out and about and I'm always left wondering if theym edible or no.

Silverback
11-10-2012, 10:36 AM
Fire by friction
Fungi id

ian c
11-10-2012, 04:29 PM
I would say that i am useless at ID plants, fungi, and most wild foods but try to remember things when shown to me as i find it easier when someone who knows what they are doing shows me what to look for.

fish
11-10-2012, 06:02 PM
fungi , plants, flint knaping,basket weaving.

FishyFolk
11-10-2012, 06:17 PM
Plants - I have not got a clue, not very interested either. Only know a few berries + dandelion and stinging nettles. I have no clue about trees either...I know birch, rowan, spruce and pine...That's it. I could identify an oak to I guess, but they do not grow here.
Fire by friction. My stick does not even get warm....and then there is the whole punk wood issue!

Kernowek Scouser