PDA

View Full Version : My First Knife

IBrown
05-01-2011, 06:33 PM
HI,
Happy new year to all,
I am new to BUshcraft and my Daughter decided to get me a knife for xmas. She bought a Jack Pike Bushcraft knife, it is very sharp but i find the blade very wide and cumbersome for a 4" Blade and the sheath is of poor quality. Has anyone had experience of this knife and can advise me on whether i should buy something different or is this a good bushcraft knife and i am just inexperienced in its use.
Regards
Ian

KERNOW KELT
05-01-2011, 07:53 PM
Hi and HNY
I cant help you ref the Jack Pike knife... I use a Mora 510, purchased it from Ray mears (about 10/11 GBP last year) Good item for the money. I also have a stainless steel Hultifor craftsmans knife, again about a tenner, again a top item for the outlay.
Hope that helps?
David
Cornwall

Bambii
05-01-2011, 09:00 PM
I too can't help you with a reference, but I'm very sure most people on this forum will tell you that Mora Knives are top quality.

They might be cheap but really really good!!

swkieran
05-01-2011, 09:12 PM
kernow celt i bet that ray mears knife is brill,was looking at it few months ago only down side to it was the hefty price.is it a top knife or is it just cause it has ray mears on it

KERNOW KELT
05-01-2011, 09:37 PM
It is a cracking knife, esp for the money, has a longer tang that the MORA CLIPPER.... but I would happily carry a CLIPPER. as BAMBII says MORA makes excellent knives. I also think HULTIFOR knives are worth a look.

comanighttrain
05-01-2011, 09:56 PM
Agree with above...mora seems to be the beginner blade of choice...

IBrown
06-01-2011, 07:22 AM
After reading a lot about what knife is best for Bushcraft, the Mora knives contradict the full tang is best argument. Thats why I asked for a full tang knife for Xmas and the Jack Pike knife is full tang. I like the price of the mora knives £10..but I believe you get what you pay for, not the case where knives are concerned it seems.