PDA

View Full Version : Vango firesteel V LMF firesteel????

Big T
31-07-2013, 09:44 AM
Hiya,

Im in the market for a firesteel, there is a camping shop close to me that sells a vango firesteel;

http://www.outbacktrading.co.uk/product/vango-fire-starter/

They also sell a LMF one;

http://www.outbacktrading.co.uk/product/light-my-fire-lighting-kit/

In your expert opinions is it worth paying the extra for the LMF one? Im kinda new to bushcrafting and would like to make lighting a fire as easy as possible!

Regards,

Anthony.

saxonaxe
31-07-2013, 01:13 PM
I've been using what I think is called an "Army Firesteel" which is one of the larger LMF types, it's about 2.5 inches long and 3/8" thick. The little steel striker is marked 'Light my Fire' and has their logo on it. I've never used the Vango one but if all LMF steels are as good as my one, then I'd say they were a safe buy. It's about 500 strikes old and throws really good sparks..

beermaker
31-07-2013, 01:52 PM
Some say that "cheaper" fire steels throw poorer sparks but I've used the expensive and the cheap and found I can get fire with both. The only issue with the cheaper ones that I've found is that the strikers are pap. I use decent quality eclipse hacksaw blades in the man cave and when they're worn out I keep them. When I need a fire steel striker, I use the bench grinder to chop a 2" length off the end, remove the teeth and sharpen up the top and bottom edges. The high carbon steel and slight springiness is perfect for getting a good shower of bright sparks from even the cheapest of fire steels.

If you're feeling a little adventurous, you can buy the ferrocerium blanks off EBay for a couple of quid and set them into a handle of your own making using a little araldite.