PDA

View Full Version : Help identify this Bolete.

Jon D
08-10-2013, 12:45 PM

Found this the other week but didn't take it home. Now I look back on this photo, I'm pretty sure it's edible but having a tough time in identifying it. Sorry for the poor photo quality. Found in mixed woodland, mainly Birch in the area this was found.

Jon D
08-10-2013, 01:49 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/08/utu6a7eb.jpg

Doesn't appear that the photo is displaying on my previous post, bloody Mac's.

andy t
09-10-2013, 07:06 AM
It looks like a cep or penny bun to me, but i'm no expert.

Jon D
09-10-2013, 08:48 AM
It has the markings of a Cep on the stem but an irregular tall stem shape and cap is small when compared to the Penny Bun. I was thinking it a Birch Bolete when considering itms habitat but it doesn't have the shaggy stem.

Geoff Dann
09-10-2013, 10:19 AM
I think that is a Bitter Bolete. Not edible.

andy t
09-10-2013, 11:28 AM
http://www.mushroomdiary.co.uk/2011/11/cep-mushroom-boletus-edulis/ See if this helps.

Geoff Dann
09-10-2013, 04:21 PM
http://www.mushroomdiary.co.uk/2011/11/cep-mushroom-boletus-edulis/ See if this helps.

Unlikely to help, given that the picture is not of B. edulis.

andy t
09-10-2013, 05:24 PM
said i wasnt an expert. :D

Geoff Dann
09-10-2013, 06:29 PM

Just for the record, the webpage being linked to here is also incorrect. The mushroom it shows is not Boletus edulis, although unlike the picture in the opening post of this thread, it is an edible relative. In other words, the error makes no difference from a foraging point of view.

The fungus in the opening post of this thread is Tylopilus felleus, which has a brown reticulations down its stem. "Reticulations" is the name for the raised network of lines. This fungus is very bitter ("felleus" as in "fell" meaning "bad").