PDA

View Full Version : Jetboil

klause
30-01-2011, 10:44 PM
I feel that i must post a thread on the jetboil system. :happy-clapping:

I bought it for Xmas and had used it in the back yard (only once to get the newness off it) and didn't realy pay much attention to the boil time.

When i bought it i was scepticle of the boiling times suggested by the company but having taken it out into the woods on Saturday (a bitterly cold day) i am now truely a massive fan.

I put a cup full of water in, just enough for one brew, and within less than one min it was at full boil.
I am a novice at the bushcraft game but surely this is outstanding? It has gone straight in at no#1 on my kit list fav...

Jet boil state a 2min boil time for 1/2 liter of water (i can see this being true) and at a wait of only 15 oz and the fact that it all fits in the cup, this surely is a must have piece of kit.

Has anyone else got one? If not 'go get one'!

Fletching
31-01-2011, 01:52 AM
...and how much fuel did it use?

JEEP
31-01-2011, 07:15 AM
I have handled and tested both the JetBoil and the Primus ETA Solo, more or less the same thing, aside from the Primus coming with detatchable legs for holding larger pots.

So far I am impressed about their boil time - and throughly unimpressed with anything else about them:

1. These are, with the standard mug/pot, pretty useless for anything else than boiling water. It is by all means possible to cook up a stew or something like that, but it requires constant stirring. Simmering is not possible with these burners, they are either turned off or on full throttle

2. Both burners use al lot of fuel, especially in cold weather - even when using butane/isubutane/propane "winter mix" gas

3. Even with the extra feet supplied with the Primus, neither of the burners are very stable, on the contrary; they are quite prone to tipping over