PDA

View Full Version : Midlands good locations?

Kingjonesy
16-12-2013, 07:57 PM
Hi all,

Not sure if this the correct place to ask, but can anyone recommend a good woodland location for bushcraft/wild camp in the midlands?

Don't necessarily need exact coordinates.

Cheers

Rich

Ehecatl
16-12-2013, 09:43 PM
Rich - I'm a new resident of the Midlands (from Kent) and am also looking for something similar. I've got relatives in Loughborough and Chesterfield so I think it's time to get them to do some research for us! :innocent:

M@

Silverback
16-12-2013, 09:45 PM
I have permission for 10 acres of mixed woodland near chesterfield

Kingjonesy
16-12-2013, 10:45 PM
Hi Sapper,

Have you had many camps there? What's it like?

Rich

Silverback
17-12-2013, 12:10 AM
Mixed broadleaved woodland, unmanaged sadly has public footpaths, not had chance to do anything with it yet tbh

Kingjonesy
17-12-2013, 08:31 PM
Routes planned, starting at Burbage Edge and over Stanage, Derwent Edge then drop down to the dam and up to Win Hill for the night. Back a similar route the next day.

Now I need to decide if I'm taking the hammock or just the bivvy and tarp.

robmac
17-12-2013, 09:32 PM
Rich - I'm a new resident of the Midlands (from Kent) and am also looking for something similar. I've got relatives in Loughborough and Chesterfield so I think it's time to get them to do some research for us! :innocent:

M@

As a kid, I used to camp in an area of Charnwood Forest known as the Outwoods just outside Loughborough, your relatives would know it. Don't know if you can camp there these days though as I moved away long ago.

Ehecatl
17-12-2013, 10:14 PM
As a kid, I used to camp in an area of Charnwood Forest known as the Outwoods just outside Loughborough, your relatives would know it. Don't know if you can camp there these days though as I moved away long ago.

Thanks I'll check it out - via my relatives :)

Sar-ian
20-12-2013, 03:21 AM
Hi all,